Add to favorite

russian visa
    Altai Territory

Altay Territory is a subject of the Russian Federation, a part of the Siberian Federal District. The administrative capital of the Territory is the city of Barnaul, a rather big city with a population of 650, 7 thousand people according to the data from 2009. Altay Territory is bounded on the south and west by East-Kazakhstan and Pavlodar regions of Kazakhstan and by Novosibirsk and Kemerovo regions on the north and north-east. On the south-east it is bounded by the Altay Republic, which was a part of the Altay Territory till 1991.

The region is rich in mineral resources, so it was a centre of mining in the 18th first half 19th centuries, later its economy was reoriented to the agriculture.

The territory is colonized by the Russians since the second half of the 17th century. Now they dominate in the population of the region.


Tags: Altai Territory Siberia Altai Russian regions Russian history 



Comment on our site

RSS   twitter   facebook   submit

Bookmark and Share

search on the map

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Russia  Fabrika  Russian business  Vandalism  Festivals in Moscow  Kolomenskoe  Censorship  Crowdfunding  Oleg Yefremov  Russian tourism  Dagestan  Travel  Russian Metro  travel to Russia  ROSCOSMOS  contemporary art  Alexander Lebedev  All Events  Christmas fair  Russian Cinema  Exhibitions in Moscow  Novoulyanovsk  Evgeni Mironov  Kazan  Sochi International Film Awards  Stanislav Lomov  Zakamensk  Marussia Motors  Russian writers  Fair Russia  accommodation in Russia  Russian regions  Moscow  Tula Region  St. Petersburg  Imereti Ornithological Park   Fountains of St. Petersburg  Birch-bark  Russian Poetry  Theatre Festivals  Moscow Theatres  Russian religion  Russian economy  Hermitage  Mittens  birth rate  Russan spacecrafts  Tragedy  mass shooting  Incidents 

Travel Blogs
Top Traveling Sites