Add to favorite
 
russian visa
    Yeniseysk

Yeniseisk is one of the oldest Siberian cities. The city is founded in 1619 by a Cossack troop as a military fortress on the left bank of the Yenisei River and for over a hundred years is known as Main Gates to the Western Siberia and Father of Siberian cities.

Yeniseisk becomes the capital of a large territory. The city rapidly extends its influence along the middle reach of the Yenisei, basins of the Lena and Angara rivers up to the Transbaikalia , and local Ket and tribes Tungus pay tribute to the city. Precious furs attract many industrialists and fur buyers here. A sable becomes the symbol of the city, appearing on citys coat-of-arms for the first time in 1635.

In the 17th century Yeniseisk grows into a large industrial centre, and later becomes the second large (Tobolsk is the first) centre of crafts and trade in Siberia. Yeniseisk craftsmen become famous for their silver, casting and forging masterpieces; wooden, leather and golden articles fascinate many people.

The city has flourished and degraded several times. In the end of 18th century southern Moscow trade tract through the town of Krasnoyarsk via Irkutsk, thus making water way via Yeniseisk less inportant. Following century is a favourable start for Yeniseisk, since richest gold deposits are discovered in Northern taiga. Yeniseisk appears among the centres of gold-mining industry during a short gold rush.

About a century ad a half the city is known as Main Gates to the Western Siberia and bears a proud name of Father of Siberian cities. Here brave pathfinder prepare their expeditions, ehich later result in founding such Siberian cities as Krasnoyarsk, Bratsk, Yakutsk, Irkutsk and others. Yeniseisk is a unique city, which wooden architecture is adorable. Local architects are very skilful in creating citys face. Main construction materials are larch and pine, which are even today responsible for the citys individuality. Talented Yeniseisks workers had decorated wooden constructions with various types of cutting. Fanciful wooden lace frames window lining, house gables and friezes. Cutting varies in design and technique, however, heavy window lining with curved leaves become the symbol of Yeniseisks architecture. The wooden Yeniseisk has burnt in flames and then rebuilt several times. In the thirties of the 18th century the city acquires gorgeous Orthodox churches, monasteries and cathedrals made of stone.

The city enters following 19th century among ten best district towns of Russia and most beautiful towns of Siberia. Famous travelers, scientists, diplomats and politicians, who were lucky to travel through Yeniseisk, mention in their notes how beautiful the coastal view of the city is. In the seventies of the twentieth century Yeniseisk is listed among 116 Russian monument cities by the resolution of the State Building Association and the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation.



Tags:


Region:


City:






Comment on our site


RSS   twitter      submit



Yeniseysk
  (Krasnoyarsk Territory)

Cities of the region

    Krasnoyarsk
    Norilsk
    Dixon
    Dudinka
    Zheleznogorsk (Krasnoyarsk Krai)
    Achinsk

History

TAGS:
Russian Internet  Russian economy  Book Tickets for Ballet  Rosneft  MICEX  international cooperation  Concerts in Saint Petersburg  Romanovs  Avant-Garde Art  St. Petersburg  Powerhouse Museum  Russian business  Yehuda Pen  Russian Dishes  Mountain Skiing  VEB  Pussy Riot,  Russian science  Unusual Monuments  The Best of Russia  Theatre Festivals  Immersive Shows  All Events  travel to Russia  Feminism  Dagestan  Russian political parties  Simferopol Airport  Russian regions  Russian Cinema  Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Russia  Russian Museums   Russian tourism  Moscow  Amursk  TNK-BP  Russian Paintings  Russian Museum  Russian scientists  Tatarstan  Sarapul  Russia-Germany  International Russian Language Theater Festival   Vilegodsky Flax  Deep Purple  Alexander Lebedev  Russian Poetry  Exhibitions in Moscow  Russian railway  Visa  


Travel Blogs
Top Traveling Sites